Everyone knows to meet with a divorce lawyer when they want to get divorced, but not many people know specifics about the divorce process unless they’ve been through it before.
In today’s blog, we’re going to fill you in on exactly how to file for divorce in Arizona. If you’re in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Chandler, Mesa, or Tempe, then our divorce lawyer can help you. Here at The Law Office of Ronald Kossack, our divorce attorney has extensive experience with handling divorce cases in Arizona. Whether you’re interested in mediation, a quick divorce, or you think you may end up in divorce court with litigation, our law office can help.
Read below to learn what to expect from the Arizona divorce process, and contact us today to schedule a free consultation with a divorce lawyer in Tempe.
Meet Residency Requirements
First things first: you can’t file for divorce in Arizona until you meet residency requirements. This means you must have lived in the state for a minimum of 90 days before meeting with a divorce lawyer and filing for divorce.
Hire A Divorce Lawyer
Once you’ve fulfilled residency requirements, it’s time to meet with a divorce lawyer. When you have a divorce attorney on your side, you’ll have someone who can represent you in court and outline the entire divorce process for you so it’s easy to understand. When it comes to child support and child custody, it’s essential to work with a divorce lawyer.
Fill Out Forms & File For Divorce
When actually filing for divorce, you must file a petition with the Clerk of the Superior Court in your county. There are multiple forms and documents you’ll need to fill out and file. Don’t stress, though — your divorce lawyer can help you make sure to fill out everything correctly.
Serve Forms To Your Spouse
Next, forms need to be served to your spouse. Once you serve them the divorce petition, they’ll have 20 days to file a response. The response will indicate whether they agree or disagree with what you included in your petition. If they don’t agree, then you could ultimately end up in divorce court.
Wait 60 Days
Before you can finalize your divorce in Arizona, you must wait 60 days between serving your papers to your spouse and the finalization. This means that if you both agree to the terms then you may be able to finalize your divorce in fewer than 90 days. It can, obviously, take much longer than this if an agreement is harder to reach.
Get A Decree Of Dissolution
A “decree of dissolution” is the final court order that legally ends your marriage. This will cover everything from the division of assets to child custody and child support.
Meet With A Divorce Lawyer In Tempe Today
Ready to start the divorce process? Meet with an experienced divorce lawyer in Tempe: Ronald Kossack. Here at The Law Office of Ronald Kossack, we make it easy for you — schedule a free initial consultation today!