Call Us:
480.345.2652
FREE Initial Consultation

Archives

  • June 2017 (4)
  • April 2017 (5)
  • March 2017 (5)
  • February 2017 (5)
  • January 2017 (5)
  • December 2016 (5)
  • November 2016 (5)
  • October 2016 (5)
  • September 2016 (5)
  • August 2016 (5)
  • July 2016 (5)
  • June 2016 (5)
  • May 2016 (7)
  • April 2016 (5)
  • March 2016 (5)
  • February 2016 (5)
  • January 2016 (6)
  • December 2015 (5)
  • November 2015 (5)
  • October 2015 (8)
  • September 2015 (3)
  • August 2015 (9)
  • July 2015 (5)
  • June 2015 (5)
  • May 2015 (5)
  • March 2015 (5)
  • February 2015 (5)
  • January 2015 (5)
  • December 2014 (5)
  • November 2014 (5)
  • October 2014 (5)
  • September 2014 (9)
  • July 2014 (5)
  • June 2014 (5)
  • May 2014 (3)
  • January 2014 (1)

  • Areas of Focus

    Contact Us Today

    Law Office of Ronald Kossack
    4645 South Lakeshore Drive, Suite 4
    Tempe, AZ 85282

    Phone: 480-345-2652
    Fax: 480-897-6038
    Email: info@kossacklaw.com

    3 Facts About Arizona Divorce

    If you live in the state of Arizona and are planning on filing for divorce, then there are several important things you have to know. Divorces can be quite complicated in any state. However, if you understand the key facts about divorce, then it will be a lot easier for you to go through this ordeal. Below is a list of three facts about Arizona divorce:

    How Long Must A Person Be A Resident Of Arizona Before Filing For Divorce?

    You or your spouse must have been a resident of Arizona for at least 90 days before filing for divorce. There is also a 60-day period that one must wait after filing for divorce before it can be finalized. Keep in mind that there are no common law marriages in Arizona. However, if you and your spouse had a common law marriage in another state, and then moved to Arizona, then Arizona would recognize this marriage.

    Arizona Is A No-Fault Divorce State

    In some states, the person who files for divorce has to state the reason he or she wants to end the marriage. However, Arizona is a no-fault divorce state. This means that neither spouse has to list a reason the marriage is ending. All one has to do is state that they believe that the marriage has been irretrievably broken.

    Covenant Marriages Are Recognized In Arizona

    Arizona is one of three states that recognizes covenant marriage. Covenant marriages are different from traditional marriages. A covenant marriage is a type of union that requires that the couple go through pre-marital counseling and marital counseling if problems occur during the marriage.

    Covenant marriages cannot be ended with a no-fault divorce. The following conditions are the only reasons a couple may end a covenant marriage 1.)Adultery 2.) One spouse is convicted of a felony that warrants the death penalty or life in prison. 3.) One spouse has abandoned the other one. 4.) There is domestic violence against the children, spouse or other relative. 5.) The couple has been living separately for two or more years, and they have not reconciled. 6.) The spouses have been living apart for more than a year after being legally separated. 7.) There is habitual drug or alcohol use. 8.)Both people agree to the marital dissolution.

    For more information on Arizona Divorce, contact us at 480.345.2652 or online today.